City Council


City Council

The Mayor and four Councilmembers represent the residents of Carmel-by-the-Sea, review public policy, and adopt policies responsive to the community. The City Council meets the first Monday and Tuesday of each month at 4:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber of Carmel City Hall located on the east side of Monte Verde Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues.

All legislative power is held by the publicly elected, five-member City Council which consists of the Mayor and four Councilmembers.  While all Councilmembers enjoy the same powers and privileges, the Mayor has the additional responsibility of presiding over City Council meetings, signing official documents, and officiating at ceremonies and events.

Mayor and Councilmembers


Mayor Dave Potter
(831) 207-6666
Term expires: November 2020






Mayor Pro Tem Bobby Richards
(831) 975-1940
Term expires: November 2020


Councilmember Jeff Baron
(831) 265-2147
Term expires: November 2022






Councilmember Jan Reimers
(831) 975-1954
Term expires: November 2020

Councilmember Carrie Theis
(831) 975-1939
Term expires: November 2022


Understanding City Meetings
Learn how to participate in the civic process

The City of Carmel-by-the-Sea welcomes your participation at City meetings. The following information will help you understand and participate in your City’s government.  Included are descriptions of the types of City meetings, Agenda Items, City Actions, and the opportunities available for the public to address the Council or a Board or Commission.