

LOCAL APPOINTMENTS LIST - MADDY ACT

In compliance with the requirements of Government Code Section 54972 (Maddy Act), the following appointment list of the City of Carmel-by-the-Sea and Commission members is posted on an annual basis by December 31. The City of Carmel-by-the-Sea encourages residents to apply for positions in an effort to build an applicant pool representative of the entire community. City Boards and Commissions advise and assist the City Council in dealing with specific projects, policies, and issues. Terms of office are 4 years, with the exception of the Harrison Memorial Library Board of Trustees who serve 3 year terms. Terms run through April 30. Vacancies occur on a rotating basis each year and the City recruits to fill these vacancies each March and April. To serve on a Board or Commission, you must reside either within the City limits or within its sphere of influence. Up to members of the Historic Resources Board may reside within Monterey County.

The names on this list are subject to change based on resignations or terminations that occur during the year. Please refer to the corresponding commission page for current membership or contact the City Clerk's Office at (831) 620-2016 or via e-mail at cityclerk@ci.carmel.ca.us.

Community Activities (5 Members) - Community Activities Commission meetings are open to the public. Regular meetings are held on the second Tuesday of every month at 9:30 a.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located on Monte Verde Street between Ocean and Seventh Avenues.

Name	Term Expire Date
Linda Calafiore	5/30/2023
Donna Jett	5/20/2025
Ellen Martin	5/30/2025
John Micek	5/30/2023
Judy Refuerzo	5/30/2023

Forest & Beach (5 Members) - Forest & Beach Commission meetings are open to the public. Regular meetings are held on the second Thursday of every month at 3:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located on Monte Verde Street between Ocean and Seventh Avenues.

Name	Term Expire Date
Sarah Berling	5/30/2024
Tamara Michie	5/30/2026
Kelly Brezoczky	5/30/2026
JC Myers	5/30/2024
Brian Sours	5/30/2025

Historic Resources (5 Members) - Historic Resources Board meetings are open to the public. Regular meetings are held on the third Monday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located on Monte Verde Street between Ocean and Seventh Avenues.

Name	Term Expire Date
Jordan Chroman	5/30/2026
Vacant	Vacant
Esther Goodhue	5/30/2026
Karyl Hall	5/30/2024
Kathy Pomeroy	5/30/2025

Planning Commission (5 Members) - Planning Commission meetings are open to the public. Regular meetings are held on the second Wednesday of every month at 4:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located on Monte Verde Street between Ocean and Seventh Avenues. Tours of Inspection are held between 2 pm and 4 pm the day of the meeting and may include some or all of the projects on the agenda.

Name	Term Expire Date
Michael LePage	5/30/2026
Erin Allen	5/30/2026
Christopher Bolton	5/30/2023
Robert Delves	5/30/2025
Stephanie Locke	5/30/2024

Harrison Library (5 Members) - Harrison Memorial Library Board of Trustees meetings are open to the public. Regular meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of every month at 9:00 a.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located on Monte Verde Street between Ocean and Seventh Avenues.

Name	Term Expire Date
John Krisher	5/30/2025
Vacant	Vacant
Susan Murphy	5/30/2023
Phillip Pardue	5/30/2025
Tara Twomey, President	5/30/2024

Building Code Board of Appeals - The Building Code Board of Appeals hears appeals of decisions of the building and fire code officials. The Board consists of five members from the Carmel community appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The Board does not have regularly scheduled meetings, rather it meets to hear specific, legally filed appeals and at other times to conduct administrative business at the request of the building official or fire code official. Meetings are held in the City Council Chambers and are advertised as public meetings when scheduled. Building Code Board of Appeals members do not have an imposed limit on service and generally serve until resignation.

Name	Term Length
Chris Tescher	open ended
Adam Jesselnick	open ended
Ron Brown	open ended
Carolyn Bjorklund	open ended
Vacant	open ended

Note: Yellow highlighted Commissioners have terms expiring in 2023